Programs

Teen Holiday Movie Marathon

movie_ticket_dock_icon_by_kaboom88-d32gnllI have the luxury of working for a public library with a fairly large projector screen and a pretty awesome sound system. We also have a movie theater popcorn maker and bean bags for teens to sit in while watching movies. For those reasons, movie programs tend to be a pretty big draw, especially if the movies in our license agreement are current. It is really important that you show movies teens want to see.

In my few years in the field, I have encountered a few librarians that would consider movie programs for kids and teens to be sort of “cop-out” programs…requiring very little work/skill on the librarian’s part. Well, to those naysayers, I say, “So what?” I want teens to attend my programs, so if showing “Divergent” or “The Hunger Games” gets them in the doors…that’s exactly what I am going to do. By getting them in the doors, I am then able to make them aware of other program offerings. Maybe they attend my other programs…maybe not. The choice is theirs.finalglobe

On Tuesday, December 23, students here in Waupaca had an early dismissal day. Being so close to the holidays, I thought it would be fun to marathon a few holiday movies that teens enjoy, like: How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000), Fred Claus (2007), Elf (2003), The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993), and so on. I served milk, hot cocoa, and cookies; and offered an easy craft: homemade snow globes. You can find a tutorial here or here.  The movies were all either movies I had in my collection or movies that I brought from home. I bought $20.00 worth of cookies and milk. You can bake if you like…I am less skilled in that area.The only thing I had to buy for the snow globes were the figurines for inside. I chose to use Disney and Pixar characters, found here for $25.00 (Thank you Cyber Monday sales!), but you could really use any plastic or ceramic figurines you have at your disposal. A few of my coworkers donated some baby food jars with lids for this project, water is free, and we had tons of glitter in storage! With the craft, my movie marathon program came in at under $50.00!

Here’s a quick list of great holiday movies, rated G to PG-13, that your teens are sure to enjoy…just make sure they are covered under your movie licensing agreement for public viewing:

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
  2. Elf (2003)
  3. Fred Claus (2007)
  4. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)
  5. Home Alone 1 & 2 (1990 & 1992)
  6. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989)
  7. A Christmas Carol (2009)
  8. The Polar Express (2004)
  9. The Holiday (2006)
  10. The Santa Clause trilogy (1994, 2002, 2006)

Emily_signature

Leave a Reply

