Programs

Yu-Gi-Oh® Tournament @ Your Public Library

yu-gi-ohLast year, I registered my department for ALA’s International Games Day. In doing so, I also entered my name to receive free games from various companies/sponsors, one of which being Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh® is huge with a select group of teens that frequents my teen space, so this seemed like a really great idea. Since the freebies are limited and I registered kind of late, I had no expectation of receiving a Yu-Gi-Oh® kit; but, low-and-behold…it arrived, not long after I registered. I had already planned and advertised that my International Games Day program would be a Mario Kart Tournament, so I decided to save my Yu-Gi-Oh® kit for another occasion.IGD12-logo-medium

Since then, I have held 3 very successful Yu-Gi-Oh® Duelist Tournaments, the last one being September 30, 2014. I plan these tournaments to fall on days when the tweens and teens are released from school early; they last roughly two hours. We had some Yu-Gi-Oh® Tournament pins in storage, so everyone that participates in the program gets a pin, which helps duelists decipher who is playing and who is just there to watch—it makes finding an opponent easier. The program is pretty hands-off on my part because ALA and Konami provide a very detailed instructions sheet on how the tournament should go down, and since it’s open dueling, players find their own opponents.

The kit contains:

  • 40 individually-wrapped Demo Decks (for game demos/practice)
  • 24 fold-out Duelist Guide posters (for game demos) – these are great for tweens/teens that want to learn.
  • 1 60-(rare) card Duelist League prize pack
  • 180 Duelist tickets
  • 40 paper game mats

20140929_110039I have a pretty healthy programs budget, and a really generous Friends of the Library group, so I like to buy prizes (Starter decks, Booster packs, Structure decks, etc.) for first, second, and third place finishers, plus awarding them first dibs at the rare cards (in the Duelist League prize pack). If you want to keep this program on-the-cheap, you could just use the included rare cards as prizes, which is laid out in the instructions guide included with the kit. I would strongly recommend that your library invest in at least one extra deck of Yu-Gi-Oh® cards to lend out because, inevitably, there will a someone that wants to play, but doesn’t have a deck and the demo decks are only suitable for if the opponent is also playing with demo decks…I just picked up a starter deck and a few booster packs (spent under $20) and I lend it out to teens during the tournament. 20140929_110044

If you are not familiar with how Yu-Gi-Oh® is played, but still want to run a Yu-Gi-Oh® Tournament, ask your teens if one or two would be willing to volunteer as a demo volunteer, or what I like to call, a Yu-Gi-Oh® Sensei. In that capacity, your chosen teen(s) would sit at a separate table and teach how it’s done. They will be flattered that you asked and will probably boast about it for a while.

20140929_110157This is a fantastic program! I highly recommend that you try it. If you haven’t registered for International Games Day and/or haven’t planned a program for that day yet, I highly recommend that you do so. It is free, totally easy, and your teen patrons will truly appreciate it.

Check out these awesome photos from my Yu-Gi-Oh Tournaments, past and present:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo credits: Yu-Gi-Oh® logo is a registered trademark of the Konami Corporation; International Games Day logo retrieved from http://igd.ala.org/; all other photos are my own.

Leave a Reply

